Witchcraft’s Place in Religion

Hello, friends! Long time, no post! Midterms were last week, so I wasn’t able to write before today.

In today’s post, I wanted to talk about how to fit witchcraft into any religious and non-religious belief system. The thing about that, though, is that there’s a multitude of answers, and all of them are personal. For some people, they may be able to sneak their witchcraft or magickal practices into their religious lives, or may find a branch of their religion that gives more wiggle room (for example, Kabbalah is a mystical form of Judaism). For others, they can’t find an accepting community or fit witchcraft into their current religion, so looking for another religion–or dropping religion altogether–makes better sense than staying. This is something that only the witch or practitioner can decide on.

What I can say without any hesitation is that witchcraft and magick can fit into anyone’s life, so long as the person is willing to make the time and the effort. Witchcraft is a practice, with no inherent religious ties. If you can believe in witchcraft and wish to pursue it, go for it. Religion is meant to shape and strengthen your practice, but it is not necessary for your magickal success.

   When I started out, I switched from Christianity to Paganism because I didn’t think I could meld the magick with a religion with the history that it has. Although Paganism is an umbrella term for nature-based religions, I use it to describe my ever-evolving religious beliefs. If you’re thinking about doing something similar, do your research. Many of these religions are also geographical and cultural, so in some instances taking in someone else’s religion without being a part of the culture can be difficult to follow (based on where you live) or even become appropriative. You might not find a specific religion that fits you, and that’s okay. If you’re religious beliefs are nature-based, by definition it would count as Paganism.

   To basically summarize and provide a little more insight, here’s a post that I find helpful when I try to explain this to others. I hope this will help you to distinguish between various paths, as well as show you all the possibilities that are out there:

   With all this in mind, I’d love to hear from you all. Ask questions, make comments. Was this helpful? Is there anything you would like me to clarify? Let me know in the comments, and I’ll try to get back to you as quickly as possible. Blessed Be!

-Erin

Pic: here

Leave a Reply

