The #1 Tool Every Witch Needs

Hello there, readers! It’s been awhile! I hope you’re all doing well!

   As you can probably imagine, I am SUPER busy. I also don’t have a lot of money on me, so buying expensive spell materials isn’t something I can do (no matter how much I’d like to have these things.) I like a good wand or candle as much as the next witch, but if I’m running around on campus, I won’t have big tools on me, and I don’t think pulling out a wand on my campus would be socially acceptable.

   That’s where this tool comes in. No one needs expensive tools to practice powerful magick, and the best part is that this item is that you already carry it with you everyday. Ready to find out what it is are? Great!

   My #1 witchy tool is…

THE IMAGINATION

(Cue the dramatic thunder and lightning)

   But seriously. Witches, especially those just starting out, often get hung up on the idea of tools. We may spend our time on Pinterest or Etsy, either cringing at the hefty prices or trying to figure out how to make our own tools when we have $12 in the bank and five minutes in the day. We forget that WE create the magick and give the tools power. The imagination helps to direct our personal energy and empower the spells and tools.

   But Erin, you may be thinking, I don’t have much of an imagination. How can I be a good witch without it?

   First, everyone has an imagination, and it doesn’t have to be a wild runaway train to be good. Let’s think about a situation. Let’s say that it’s around lunchtime, and you’re in your favorite pizza joint. You may be reading the menu, but you’re also imagining what the food tastes like. Once you pick what you want to eat, you might picture it in your head as you order, or “see” yourself sitting at a table in the corner with your food. The entire time you’re there, you’re using your imagination. Human beings are constantly imagining things in our heads, even if we don’t realize it. It’s a part of how we make sense of the world around us.

   Second, if you don’t think you have a strong imagination, practice always makes perfect. As a writer, I’m constantly improving my imagination when I picture my characters in scenes. I recommend writing as a practice, but there are plenty of ways to develop a strong imagination. Drawing, painting, daydreaming (a personal favorite), floral arrangements (another personal favorite), reading–there’s no limit to what you can do. Just find what works for you and carve out time in your schedule to work on it.

   Sometimes, though, our schedules may be so airtight that finding time to sit down and breathe is almost impossible. If you can’t figure out how to carve out time for these practices, find a moment where activities lull. This could be your walk to your classes, a peaceful moment on the subway, or even when your in line for your second cup of coffee. Just close your eyes and try to consciously imagine an everyday object. Hold that image for as long as you can, and don’t force yourself to hold it once it starts to fade. With constant practice, the strength, detail, and the amount of time you can hold the image will increase. From there, you can even play around with things like color. Change the object’s color in the midst of the visualization. You’ll be surprised how helpful this is.

   So that’s my two cents on tools and magick. What do you think? Do you have a favorite tools you use? Do you like to use tools? Let me know in the comments, and I’ll try to respond. I’m in the middle of a ton of projects right now, so posts may continue to be spotty. For the next post (whenever that is), I’ll be comparing magic in the media (books, TV shows, movies, etc.) and the magick and witchcraft of the real world. Blessed Be!

-Erin

Leave a Reply

